February 1, 2017

CAN YOU DEAL? New EP, New Single, New Zine, and New Tour

Can You Deal EP Cover

Today we announce our new EP titled Can You Deal? which is out March 3 on Dead Oceans. You can listen to the title track now.  I create music and art because I need to. To express, to bond, to reconcile, and to connect. And to use my voice. To have it received with such a generic labeling as “girl band” and consistently referenced as “female fronted” is insulting and reductive.  The title track to this EP, “Can You Deal?” is about this experience.  Last year we released a deeply personal full length album titled Welcome The Worms. It was a record about being in an emotionally abusive relationship. It was a record about getting spun out on drugs and alcohol. It was a record about totally losing myself in order to find myself.  And yet to this day I am still fielding interview questions that have more to do with my gender than with the art I am creating. Somehow the conversation usually derails into some variation of the following question: “What is it like to be a girl in a rock band?”. And the ensuing story will define us based on our sex. Why is gender pointed out in nearly all coverage of our band? Labeling me as a woman in a band just puts me in a box, and doesn’t allow everything else I am to be seen and heard. It’s 2017, Can You Deal with women playing rock and roll yet?

PRE ORDER

LISTEN:

I have also compiled a zine titled Can You Deal? that is a collection of shared experiences on the matter as told through essay, stories, poetry, visual art, and more. The zine is available through mail order with all net proceeds going to Planned Parenthood. Contributors include: Mecca Vazie Andrews (Sex Stains), Julien Baker, Alicia Bognanno of Bully, Jennifer Clavin (Bleached), Jessica Clavin (Bleached), Sadie Dupuis (Speedy Ortiz), EMA, Alice Glass, Micayla Grace (Bleached), Allie Hanlon (Peach Kelli Pop), Hinds, Ali Koehler (Upset, Vivian Girls), Maryn Jones (All Dogs), Sara Landeau (the Julie Ruin), Lizzo, Dani Miller (Surfbort), Kate Nash, Liz Phair, Jane Weidlin (The Go Go’s), Allison Wolfe (Sex Stains, Bratmobile), Tegan Quin (Tegan and Sara), Patty Schemel (Upset, Hole), Kim Schifino (Matt and Kim), Mish Way (White Lung), Hayley Williams (Paramore), and more TBA

can-you-deal_PR final

PRE ORDER THE ZINE 

And Lastly, we are headed out on tour with the DAMNED!!!!!!! One of our favorite bands of all time. Dates are below.

Tue. Feb. 14 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom^
Thu. Apr. 6 – Los Angeles, CA @ Echoplex
Fri. Apr. 7 – San Diego, CA @ House of Blues*
Sat. Apr. 8 – Anaheim, CA @ House of Blues*
Sun. Apr. 9 – Las Vegas, NV @ House of Blues*
Tue. Apr. 11 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore*
Wed. Apr. 12 – Sacramento, CA @ Ace of Spades*
Fri. Apr. 14 – Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom*
Sat. Apr. 15 – Vancouver, BC @ The Commodore*
Sun. Apr. 16 – Seattle, WA @ The Showbox*
Tue. Apr. 18 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The Depot*
Wed. Apr. 19 – Denver, CO @ Summit Music Hall*
Fri. Apr. 21 – St. Louis, MO @ Delmar Hall*
Sat. Apr. 22 – Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line*
Sun. Apr. 23 – Chicago, IL @ House of Blues*
Mon. Apr. 24 – Louisville, KY @ Mercury Lounge*
Wed. Apr. 26 – Indianapolis, IN @ Deluxe (Old National Center)*
Thu. Apr. 27 – Cincinnati, OH @ Bogart’s*
Fri. Apr. 28 – Cleveland, OH @ House of Blues*
Sat. Jul. 29 – New York, NY @ Panorama Music Festival

^Jennifer & Jessie duo w/ Ty Segall, King Tuff, Kevin Morby, Mikal Cronin
*w/ The Damned

 

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Bleached